Image source: http://chetanshergill.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/sufi.html
Image source: http://chetanshergill.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/sufi.html

All the long night,
I could not get this out of my head.
Because how is it that even when I too do not look,

I see You?

How is it that You burn my eyes,
burn onto the backs of my eyelids,
when You do not inhabit even the peripheral?
Where can I go that I will not think of You?
Where do You stay,
so that I will not know You are there?
Sunrise and sunset swallows You out of my blessed sight.
But even as I smile at the reprieve,

I know it was You all along.


Hafsa Khan (22.01.2015).

Sorry about the long silence between posts. All I can say is: life. Although I hope the poem made up for it. It is a Sufi inspired work I wrote a few months ago now.

Also – just because I feel this might be a gift to someone else – here is Sareban performed by the Shams Ensemble. A musical performance of a sonnet written by Maulana Rumi. My soul can be found in this somewhere…

Enjoy.